TACOS 2020 

 19th – 21st June 2020 in Heidelberg 

About TaCoS 2020

Following the summers of 2001, 2009 and 2016, we are hosting TaCoS for the fourth time in Heidelberg! We are excited to give you the opportunity to present your work, attent interesting workshops and talks, and to explore the postcard motive that is Heidelberg! For this year, we want to open the conference to linguists of all walks of life! What this will look like, we will announce shortly. Until then, no matter if you study translation studies, semantics or proto-germanic linguistics, mark the TaCoS 2020 in your calendar!
The conference languages are English and German. We will try to provide as many talks and workshops in English as possible, but we can not guarantee that there will be an English language talk at every time slot. If you need a sign language interpreter, get in touch with the conference team as soon as possible.

Team

The TaCoS coordination team consists of Marinco Möbius, Trang Vu, Victor Zimmermann and Jennifer Mell. The conference is made possible through countless helpers working in committees and with their legs on the ground.

You can contact the organisation team at 2020@linguistik.computer

.

TaCoS 2020 is hosted by the Constituted Student Body of Heidelberg University.

Registration Reminder

If you want to be notified as soon as registration opens, you can use the form below. You will recieve exactly one email and we will delete all collected information afterward.

  

Code of Conduct

Purpose

A primary goal of all the conferences and user groups that refer to this Code of Conduct is to be inclusive to the largest number of contributors, with the most varied and diverse backgrounds possible. As such, we are committed to providing a friendly, safe and welcoming environment for all, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, ability, ethnicity, socioeconomic status and religion (or lack thereof).

This Code of Conduct outlines our expectations for all those who participate in our community, as well as the consequences for unacceptable behavior.

We invite all those who participate in our events to help us create safe and positive experiences for everyone.

Open [Source/Culture/Tech] Citizenship

A supplemental goal of this Code of Conduct is to increase open [source/culture/tech] citizenship by encouraging participants to recognize and strengthen the relationships between our actions and their effects on our community.

Communities mirror the societies in which they exist and positive action is essential to counteract the many forms of inequality and abuses of power that exist in society.

If you see someone who is making an extra effort to ensure our community is welcoming, friendly, and encourages all participants to contribute to the fullest extent, we want to know.

Expected Behavior

  • Participate in an authentic and active way. In doing so, you contribute to the health and longevity of this community.
  • Exercise consideration and respect in your speech and actions.
  • Attempt collaboration before conflict.
  • Refrain from demeaning, discriminatory, or harassing behavior and speech.
  • Be mindful of your surroundings and of your fellow participants. Alert community leaders if you notice a dangerous situation, someone in distress, or violations of this Code of Conduct, even if they seem inconsequential.

Unacceptable Behavior

Unacceptable behaviors include: intimidating, harassing, abusive, discriminatory, derogatory or demeaning speech or actions by any participant in our community online, at all related events and in one-on-one communications carried out in the context of community business. Community event venues may be shared with members of the public; please be respectful to all patrons of these locations.

Harassment includes: harmful or prejudicial verbal or written comments related to gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, disability; inappropriate use of nudity and/or sexual images (including presentation slides); inappropriate depictions of violence (including presentation slides); deliberate intimidation, stalking or following; harassing photography or recording; sustained disruption of talks or other events; inappropriate physical contact, and unwelcome sexual attention.

Consequences of Unacceptable Behavior

Unacceptable behavior from any community member, including sponsors and those with decision-making authority, will not be tolerated. Anyone asked to stop unacceptable behavior is expected to comply immediately.

If a community member engages in unacceptable behavior, the community organizers may take any action they deem appropriate, up to and including a temporary ban or permanent expulsion from the community without warning (and without refund in the case of a paid event).

If You Witness or Are Subject to Unacceptable Behavior

If you are subject to or witness unacceptable behavior, or have any other concerns, please notify a community organizer as soon as possible. You can find a list of organizers to contact for each of the supporters of this code of conduct at the bottom of this page. Additionally, community organizers are available to help community members engage with local law enforcement or to otherwise help those experiencing unacceptable behavior feel safe. In the context of in-person events, organizers will also provide escorts as desired by the person experiencing distress.

Addressing Grievances

If you feel you have been falsely or unfairly accused of violating this Code of Conduct, you should notify one of the event organizers with a concise description of your grievance. Your grievance will be handled in accordance with our existing governing policies.

Scope

We expect all community participants (contributors, paid or otherwise; sponsors; and other guests) to abide by this Code of Conduct in all community venues—online and in-person—as well as in all one-on-one communications pertaining to community business.

License and attribution

Our code of conduct has been heavily inspired by the Berlin Code of Conduct and is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0) license.

Sponsors

If you or your company want to sponsor this year's TaCoS, please email tacos2020@linguistik.computer. We are happy to make you an offer or work with you to come up with an individual solution!

TACOS 2020 

 19. – 21. Juni 2020 in Heidelberg 

Über die TaCoS 2020

Wir richten nun nach 2001, 2009 und 2016 zum vierten mal die Tagung der Computerlinguistik-Studierenden aus! Wir freuen uns schon, euch die Gelegenheit zu geben, eure eigenen Projekte vorzustellen, an interessanten Workshops und Vorträgen teilzunehmen und dabei das Postkartenmodel Heidelberg aus nächster Nähe zu erkunden! Wir wollen dieses Jahr die Konferenz auch für Linguisten anderer Fachrichtungen öffnen! Wie das ganze aussehen wird, geben wir in Kürze bekannt. Also egal ob Translatologe, Romanist oder Korpuslinguist, markiert euch die TaCoS 2020 in eurem Kalender!

Die Konferenzsprachen sind Englisch und Deutsch. Ist ein Gebärdensprachdolmetscher gewünscht, bitten wir darum, dies dem Organisationsteam so früh wie möglich mitzuteilen.

Das Team

Das Koordinationsteam für die TaCoS 2020 besteht aus Marinco Möbius, Trang Vu, Victor Zimmermann und Jennifer Mell. Die Tagung wird von zahllosen Helfern in Gremienarbeit und vor Ort unterstützt.

Das Organisationsteam kann unter tacos2020@linguistik.computer erreicht werden! Alle anderen sozialen Kanäle findet ihr auch auf dieser Tagungsseite.

Veranstalter der Tagung der Computerlinguistik-Studierenden 2020 ist die Verfasste Studierendenschaft der Universität Heidelberg.

Anmeldungsalarm

Wenn du benachrichtigt werden möchtest, sobald die Anmeldung offen ist, kannst du dieses Formular nutzen. Du erhältst genau eine Email über die angegebene Adresse und wir löschen sämtliche E-Mail-Adressen im Anschluss.

  

Code of Conduct

Zielsetzung

Alle Konferenzen und Gruppen, die sich auf diesen Verhaltenskodex beziehen, haben es sich als ein wichtiges Ziel gesetzt, die größtmögliche Anzahl an Beitragenden mit den vielfältigsten und unterschiedlichsten Hintergründen einzubeziehen. Wir sehen es als unsere Aufgabe, eine freundliche, sichere und einladende Umgebung zu schaffen, unabhängig von Geschlecht, sexueller Orientierung, Befähigung, Herkunft, Religion (oder deren Nichtvorhandensein) sowie gesellschaftlichem und wirtschaftlichem Status.

Dieser Verhaltenskodex umreißt unsere Erwartungen an alle Beteiligten unserer Community, sowie die Konsequenzen für inakzeptables Verhalten.

Wir laden alle Teilnehmenden unserer Veranstaltungen ein, sichere und positive Erfahrungen für alle mitzugestalten.

Open [Source/Culture/Tech] Citizenship

Ein zusätzliches Ziel dieses Verhaltenskodexes ist es, die Open [Source/Culture/Tech] Citizenship zu stärken. Insofern ermutigen wir unsere Teilnehmenden, die Beziehungen zwischen Handlungen und deren Auswirkungen auf unsere Community zu erkennen und zu stärken.

Communities spiegeln die Gesellschaften wider, in denen sie existieren. Positive Handlungen sind unerlässlich, um den vielen Formen von Ungerechtigkeit und Machtmissbrauch in der Gesellschaft entgegenzuwirken.

Wenn du Personen begegnest, die sich viel Mühe geben, unsere Community einladend und freundlich zu gestalten und alle Teilnehmenden dazu anregt, sich voll einzubringen, würden wir gerne davon hören.

Erwartetes Verhalten

Beteilige dich authentisch und aktiv. Dadurch trägst du zur Gesundheit und Langlebigkeit dieser Community bei.

Verhalte dich rücksichts- und respektvoll in Wort und Tat.

Bemühe dich um Zusammenarbeit, damit du Konflikte von Anfang an vermeiden kannst.

Nimm Abstand von erniedrigender, diskriminierender oder belästigender Sprache und Verhalten.

Achte auf deine Umgebung und die anderen Teilnehmenden. Mache die Veranstaltenden oder andere Anwesende darauf aufmerksam, wenn du eine gefährliche Situation, jemanden in Bedrängnis oder Verletzungen dieses Verhaltenskodexes bemerkst, selbst wenn sie zunächst belanglos erscheinen.

Inakzeptables Verhalten

Inakzeptable Verhaltensweisen beinhalten: Einschüchterung, Belästigung, beleidigende, diskriminierende, abwertende oder erniedrigende Sprache und Verhalten durch jegliche Teilnehmenden in unserer Community. Dies gilt online, auf allen zugehörigen Veranstaltungen und in persönlichen Gesprächen im Rahmen unserer Community.

Belästigung beinhaltet: Verletzende oder abwertende mündliche oder schriftliche Kommentare in Bezug auf Geschlecht, sexuelle Orientierung, Abstammung, Religion, Behinderung; unangemessene Verwendung von Nacktheit und/oder sexuellem Bildmaterial (inklusive Präsentationsslides); absichtliche Einschüchterung, Stalking oder Nachlaufen; belästigendes Fotografieren oder Filmen; ständige Unterbrechung von Vorträgen oder anderen Events; unangemessener Körperkontakt und unerwünschte sexuelle Zuwendung.

Folgen von inakzeptablem Verhalten

Inakzeptables Verhalten jeglicher Community-Mitglieder, einschließlich Sponsoren und Entscheidungsberechtigten, wird nicht toleriert. Wird das Unterlassen inakzeptablen Verhaltens verlangt, ist dem augenblicklich Folge zu leisten.

Wenn ein Community-Mitglied sich auf inakzeptable Art und Weise verhält, steht es den Veranstaltenden zu, jegliche ihnen angemessen erscheinende Maßnahme zu ergreifen, bis einschließlich einem befristeten oder permanenten Ausschluss aus der Community ohne Warnung (sowie im Falle einer zahlungspflichtigen Veranstaltung ohne Rückerstattung von Kosten).

Wenn du inakzeptables Verhalten erlebst

Wenn du von inakzeptablem Verhalten betroffen bist, dieses beobachtest oder andere Anliegen hast, teile dies bitte so bald wie möglich einer für die Veranstaltung verantwortlichen Person mit. Du findest eine Liste der Kontaktpersonen je unterstützender Initiative dieses Verhaltenskodexes ganz unten auf der Seite. Zusätzlich stehen die Veranstaltenden zur Verfügung, um Community-Mitgliedern dabei zu helfen, mit den lokalen Ordnungs- und Strafverfolgungskräften in Kontakt zu treten als auch ihr Sicherheitsgefühl anderweitig wieder herzustellen. Im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen mit persönlicher physischer Anwesenheit stellen die Veranstaltenden auf Wunsch der betroffenen Person auch Begleitung zur Verfügung.

Behandlung von Beschwerden

Wenn du dich zu Unrecht oder auf ungerechte Art und Weise beschuldigt fühlst, diesen Verhaltenskodex verletzt zu haben, wende dich bitte mit einer genauen Beschreibung deiner Beschwerde an eine für die entsprechende Veranstaltung verantwortliche Person. Deine Beschwerde wird dann in Übereinstimmung mit unseren vorhandenen Richtlinien behandelt.

Geltungsbereich

Wir erwarten, dass sich alle Teilnehmenden der Community (bezahlte oder unbezahlte Beitragende, Sponsoren sowie andere Gäste) an jedweden Veranstaltungsorten der Community - online und offline - sowie in allen persönlichen Gesprächen im Rahmen der Community an diesen Verhaltenskodex halten.

Lizenz und Namensnennung

Unser Code of Conduct wurde erheblich durch den Berlin Code of Conduct inspiriert und steht unter der Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0) Lizenz.

Sponsoren

Wenn Sie als Sponsor die TaCoS 2020 unterstützen wollen, wenden Sie sich bitte per Mail an tacos2020@linguistik.computer. Gerne schicken wir Ihnen unser Angebot oder erarbeiten mit Ihnen eine individuelle Lösung.